Thursday, February 21, 2008

Characters

So...in order to keep this straight for myself and because I thought it might help if anyone is reading this....here is a list of the names I have made for all my friends that either have appeared or will appear in this blog.

Blog Characters:

Sweetheart = my fiancée, best friend, boyfriend of the past 4 years

Steph = my best friend, freshman year roommate, that lives way to far away

Jennie = college friend and onetime roommate who I have a rocky relationship with

Ashley = friend from CLUB who I often travel with and have over for dinner

Callie = CLUB friend who I love to go out with

Leslie = my annoying little sister

Star = a bridesmaid in my wedding and a grad school friend

Amanda = another close friend from grad school who lives a block away

Amy = my best friend from age two

Ken and Jackie = sweetheart’s best man and his wife, our friends through CLUB

More to be added later. When I add I will update.

Flashback to October 2004

still procrastinating...or procrastinating again...not sure i want to sleep tonight...or am going to...

It was a fun weekend. It has not been a fun week so I will talk about my weekend.

I was on duty this weekend so I only really had fun during the day because I was monitoring other people's fun in the evenings. Though rounds were uneventful as one of the more exciting things was seeing a cat and Jeff being eaten by the elevator.

Friday I went to the powder puff football game which was fun...guys in skirts are always amusing. Plus the Jr class is awesome.

Saturday I went shopping with Jennie and Steph. Which resulted in the 3 of us getting matching t-shirts for halloween that have a skeleton on the front and say "shake your booo-ty" hehehe. we were amused (colin wasn't so much amused). Then Sarah and I finally found an Olive garden and got dinner and then shared a blizzard at DQ...aka we were trying to make ourselves sick since we had eaten lunch at the mall not long before this.

Sunday was Sweetheart's surprise birthday party. This was fun because he actually seemed to enjoy it. This shocked me since he had repeatedly said no party, no fun, no doing anything about his birthday. He kept telling me it wasn't a big deal but since I come from the school of my college friends for whom everything is a big deal. We couldn't not have the party. Major props to my partner in crime for helping me pull this off and being a good distraction even when sweetheart drives and tries to foil our plans. Thanks also to Jennie, Steph, and misc. other college friends for helping me with last minute decorating.



This post is amusing mostly because it talks about Sweetheart's first birthday party EVER. Not first surprise party. First ever birthday party. Further explaining why I just don't get his parents. To this day, sweetheart still doesn't understand why my family, my friend, and I all make a big deal out of his or anyone's birthday for that matter. He doesn't get why they are important or fun. They are the day you celebrate and are grateful that this amazing person (whoever it is) is in the world, it part of your life, is someone you love. I love birthdays! I particularly love my birthday and making plans for it and having a good time on it.


Note to self...at some point describe all the weird things my college friends and I did for birthdays in college.


so crazy

My life has been so crazy lately that I actually haven't manage to update this at all...despite the fact that I intended too. My school and work schedules have been crazy and I had a conference over the weekend and an out of town class for school yesterday. Needless to say I have traveled all around my state in about 4 days. Plus, while sweetheart and I were at the CLUB conference this weekend, his car broke down and is still where we left it HOPEFULLY getting fixed. I am hoping we can pick it up this weekend and that we can get it back so I can stop getting my friends from school to drive me to class and work.

I also don't really remember or want to go into the fight from the previous post but I will give you this update...his parents still don't know when we are getting married. Less than 11 months away. I really really wish he would just suck it up and tell them.

I have the worst cold right now. All I want to do is crawl in a big fort of blankets and never move. Unfortunately, I have a test and a paper Monday, neither of which I have worked on due to all the traveling. So pretty much I will be studying for 3 days meaning that I'll probably post a decent amount since I love to procrastinate while studying.

Amusing thought of the weekend: I love the "pizza fairy" when I am drinking. The story of the pizza fairy started back in april when I was out with a big group of my girls. I had more to drink than usual and ended up not really remembering the walk back to my friend Callie's house. I do remember Ashley leaving sweetheart the best viocemail about how I was drunk. I remember Callie and Ashley crying at the bar about two separate things. I remember being upstairs in Callie's room changing while our very shy guy friend Steve slept on the floor. I remember eating pizza and falling asleep. Other than that I am clueless. I do not remember pizza being ordered or arriving, though apparently I talked a lot about this pizza fairy and they now tease me about this anytime we drink together...really it is just a great excuse to order pizza after we've been out.

So...I think I'm gonna maybe go back through some old things and post later.